Top 5 things I miss in Orlando

Just a quick one for you today. And a total trip down my memory lane for me. Let me know if there’s anything you miss that Disney, universal or anybody else has “stolen” from your Orlando.

img_5714.jpg
Electrical Parade
  1. Main Street electrical parade, I don’t know anybody that says “thank goodness that’s gone”. Updating it would have been fine, even putting Paint the Night in from another park would have been great, but taking it away all together was a crime. It was stunning and such a special part of Magic Kingdom. I haven’t given up hope that one day it will come back in one form or another
  2. The dragons – and I can’t even find a picture of me with them! For those of you that don’t know this pair of dragons were in the middle of the road I think to advertise a Chinese restaurant. When I was younger stopping the car and visiting those dragons wasn’t only iconic for us, it was a sign we were in our favourite place on Earth. If anybody knows what I’m talking about and can tell me which road and send me a picture I’d be so grateful. This is a clear memory from childhood and I just can’t find them on google 😦
  3. Mickey and Minnie’s houses in Toontown. Pressing the button to make the cake rise and seeing Pluto’s kennel in the garden were childhood highlights for me. I understand it was dated, that it wasn’t set up for the queues it got and perhaps I wouldn’t think of it so fondly if I’d visited as an adult. Now, I think of those houses with a warm smile inside.
  4. The Jaws Ride – I love The Wizarding World of Harry Potter and I’m glad this replaced on outdated ride. But, as I child (and even now) was scared of rides and this was  the first non child ride my parents got me on.
  5. IMG_4807
    Sea Lion High Stadium

    Clyde and Seamore take pirate island – this is the sea lion and otter show at Seaworld. Now, don’t get me wrong. I still enjoyed sea lion high. But, the plot seemed a lot more forced, soaking the audience whilst funny for those of us sitting up high seemed a bit pointless when it just came from cannons. I just don’t know, pirate island was perfect, we’d watch it over and over. And sea lion high is just meh, saved only by the fact the animals are brilliant.

I wait with baited breath and an open mind to see whether wishes is about to join the list…

Leave a Reply

